Skip to Main content


Providers can take orientation and training courses to better serve our members. You can even schedule an appointment in your office by contacting a provider network management account executive (PDF).

Regional provider training


AmeriHealth Caritas Louisiana is facilitating a Child and Adolescent Level of Care Utilization System (CALOCUS) training for behavioral health providers at no cost to the providers. CALOCUS is a clinical tool developed by the American Association of Community Psychiatrists to evaluate and determine level of care placements for psychiatric and addiction services. Participants must register in advance.

June 21, 2018 — Baton Rouge

Capital Area Human Services
4615 Government Street, Bldg. 2
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Time: noon – 4 p.m.
Register by June 15 — Baton Rouge

June 25, 2018 — Harvey

Jefferson Parish Coroner's Office
2018 8th Street
Harvey, LA 70058
Time: 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Register by June 22 — Harvey

June 29, 2018 — Lafayette

Lafayette General Hospital, Owen Auditorium
1214 Coolidge Street
Lafayette, LA 70505
Time: noon – 4 p.m.
Register by June 22 — Lafayette

Event objectives

  • To summarize the historical context in which the CALOCUS was developed.
  • Recognize the rationale and principles used to define level of care determinations.
  • Apply the dimensional rating system utilizing evaluation parameters.
  • Describe the service areas that comprise each level of care.
  • Describe the placement recommendation methodology of the CALOCUS.
  • Apply the CALOCUS instrument and make a recommendation for level of care based on this application.

This training is appropriate for psychiatrists, psychologists, advanced practice registered nurses who are clinical nurse specialists in psychiatry or nurse practitioners certified in psychiatry or mental health nursing, licensed professional counselors, and licensed clinical social workers.

Online provider education opportunities